Connect with us


Tamil Nadu register biggest ever List A victory, defeat Arunachal Pradesh by 435 runs




Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

It was one of the finest outings for the Tamil Nadu team in the history of domestic cricket tournaments as the Baba Indrajith-led side claimed a massive 435-run victory against the Kamsha Yanfo-led Arunachal Pradesh at the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022. After posting a target of a whopping 507 runs in their 50-overs quota, Tamil Nadu dished out their opponents for mere 71 runs.

Tamil Nadu’s batting innings was dominated by Narayan Jagadeesan, who smashed his fifth consecutive century at the tournament, thereby creating a record for the most consecutive centuries in List A cricket in the world. He went on to hit a double ton and notched up 277 runs in 141 balls before being dismissed by Arunachal Pradesh’s Chetan Anand.

Batting first, Tamil Nadu openers Sai Sudharsan and Narayan Jagadeesan shared a jaw-dropping 416-run stand, the highest-ever partnership, for any wicket, in List A cricket. Techi Doria dismissed Sudharsan (154 off 102) to break the partnership in the 39th over, and Jagadessan walked back soon in the 42nd over. Baba Aparajith and Indrajith shared a composed 58-run stand for the third wicket and finished Tamil Nadu’s innings at 506/2.

Arunachal Pradesh’s batting lineup crumbles like a cookie

While chasing, Arunachal Pradesh’s batting unit faced a terrible collapse as none of the batters were able to make a mark in the game. After the openers Neelam Obi and Rohan Sharma were dismissed within the powerplay scoring 4(13) and 2(22) respectively, the middle-order batters struggled to get going. It was Tamil Nadu’s M Siddarth who put an end to the batters’ misery as he picked up a brilliant five-wicket haul.

Siddarth stormed through Arunachal Pradesh’s lineup and managed to put an end to their innings very quickly, thereby registering figures of 5/12 in 7.4 overs of his spell. The team and players broke multiple records during the first innings. While Tamil Nadu registered the highest team total in List A cricket, Jagadeesan single handed broke various records during his time on the field.

Apart from smashing the most consecutive hundreds in List A games, Jagadeesan became the first player to notch up five centuries in a single edition of the tournament as he broke Virat Kohli, Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal and Ruturaj Gaikwad’s record of four centuries in a single edition.

Apart from that, he also broke the record for most sixes by a batter in an innings by hitting 15 sixes against Arunachal Pradesh. The record was previously held by Yashasvi Jaiswal’s who had smashed 12 sixes. Jagadeesan’s 277(141) is also the highest individual score in the history of List A cricket.